A global network to devise more powerful ways of addressing injustice & violence, and the role that philanthropy can play.

Home

Blog

Rethinking Poverty: What needs to change?

In this post Barry Knight takes a look at failed approaches to poverty in the UK, things worsening with the pandemic and ‘making life next to impossible for people towards the bottom of the income distribution, with minorities and women most affected’. He points out how politicians are ill-informed about poverty. As a result, mistakes…

Interview with Graciela Hopstein

In this interview Graciela Hopstein of the Brazilian Philanthropy Network for Social Justice speaks with GIFE – Group of Institutes, Foundations and Enterprises, Brazil about the role and centrality of social movements in bringing about systemic transformations to create the world we seek. She reflects on the challenges social movements and the civic space face…

Romanticising resilience: Why the struggle to survive should not become a way of life

Resilient is a word frequently used by human rights activists and the development sector, to describe persons affected by war and violence. In Sri Lanka, the mothers of the disappeared are praised for their resilience when they continue their struggle for justice despite intimidation and harassment. Women headed households labouring to eke out a living…

See all

Resources

Beyond us and them

Social movements are increasingly important to the process of change, but their relationship with institutional philanthropy has often proven a difficult one. What are these difficulties and how can they be resolved? Drawing on a recent paper by Halima Mahomed, Institutional philanthropy and popular organising in Africa : some initial reflections from social movement activists,…

News

Join our learning circle on building the ‘beloved community’

We are living in a time of unprecedented challenge – the pandemic, political polarisation, growing tribalism and nationalism, long delayed racial reckoning in parts of the world, exacerbation of gender inequities, rising poverty, gaping inequality, and the imminent climate catastrophe. As agents of change, there is much frustration that our efforts are falling short, so…

Let’s Build Peace, Here & Now Episode 2: Bassma Kodmani and Dawn Shackles

21 June 2021 9:00 AM EDT, 1:00 PM UTC, 2:00 PM BST, 3:00 PM CEST, 6:30 PM IST Register here   https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEsd-6vqzorGdIYK82n5UQKs2hdIDPRAnfN About this Event In the second episode of ‘Let’s build peace: here and now’ conversations, Dawn Shackels, a local activist from Northern Ireland will speak with Bassma Kodmani, a fellow activist and peacebuilder who…

New Study Provides Insight About How Philanthropy Can Make Peacebuilding a Priority

On 14 July 2020 CANDID released Philanthropy for a Safe, Healthy, and Just World, a first-of-its-kind study that identifies clear opportunities and challenges in supporting peacebuilding activities. Currently, less than 1% of philanthropic funding supports peace and security. 823 organizations worldwide responded to a survey, conducted by Candid and CENTRIS and funded by PeaceNexus, which…